When you are checking out adult content on a public computer, you may not want other people to know which websites you have visited. It is possible to erase all your footprints by deleting personal data, cookies, and browsing history, but this can be rather time-consuming. One convenient way to clear records of visited websites is to use the private browsing mode that is available in your browser. This mode is also sometimes referred to as “porn mode”, and it functions to prevent the browser from recording data about websites and web pages that you have visited as well as files that you have opened. This means that there will be absolutely no trace of website visits that you do not want other people to know about. Here are instructions on how to activate private browsing mode in Internet Explorer, Firefox, and Google Chrome.
To open the InPrivate Browsing window, you have to click on the “Safety” command bar, and then select “InPrivate Browsing”. This can also be done by pressing the shortcut key “Ctrl+Shift+P”.
Once the window is displayed, your browser will be in private browsing mode. You will see an InPrivate indicator to the left of the browser’s address bar. The InPrivate Browsing mode will end when you close the browser.
It is also very easy to activate private browsing in Windows 7. Just right-click on the taskbar icon, and select “InPrivate”. Alternatively, you can click and hold the mouse’s left button on the taskbar icon, and slide the mouse up to make the menu pop up.
If you are not using Windows 7, you can create a private browsing shortcut manually. All you have to do is make a new shortcut to your Internet Explorer, and add “-private” after the quotes in the “location of item” box. The final path should be
"C:/Program Files (x86)/Internet Explorer/iexplore.exe" -private
After that, just give the new icon a name to indicate that it is a private browsing shortcut, and you are done.
Private browsing mode is also available in Firefox. Just open the Tools menu and select “Private Browsing”.
A dialog box will open, and it will ask you whether you wish to save all current tabs. To begin your private browsing session, just click the “Start Private Browsing” button.
After you have chosen to start private browsing, the non-private browsing session will be closed. A screen confirming that you are in private browsing mode will appear.
When you are in private browsing mode, the window will remain the same as before, but there will be a “Private Browsing” indicator at the top left corner of the window. To close the private browsing session, go to the Tools menu again, and uncheck “Private Browsing”. Once the private browsing session is closed, all the data from the private session will be discarded, and ordinary browsing mode will be restored.
In Google Chrome, the private browsing feature is known as “incognito”. To start the incognito mode, click on the File menu and choose “New Incognito Window”. You can also use the Ctrl+Shift+N shortcut.
After you have opened the incognito window, all your browsing data will be kept in a bubble, and it will be discarded when you close the window.