Hawaii’s laws prohibiting prostitution are not that much different from the laws in the other 49 states. Prostitution, the advancement of it and travel for it are strictly prohibited by state statutes. While prostitution itself is only a petty misdemeanor offense, other extenuating circumstances make it as serious as a class B felony.
Definition of prostitution
Prostitution in Hawaii is defined as agreeing to, offering to or engaging in sexual conduct with another person in exchange for money or a fee of some sort. Sexual conduct includes, but is not limited to, sexual contact, sexual penetration and deviate sexual intercourse.
Convicted of a first offense, a defendant may expect to pay a mandatory $500 fine and receive probation. Depending on the defendant’s record, imprisonment of no more than 30 days may take the place of the probation. In certain instances, a judge may order community service in place of the fine or the jail sentence.
When a defendant is convicted of subsequent offenses, he or she is subject to a mandatory $500 fine and a 30-day jail sentence that has no chance of suspension.
The code specifies that this law does not apply to any police officer, law enforcement officer or sheriff’s deputy who is acting in the scope of his or her duties.
Promotion of prostitution
The act of advancing prostitution is illegal. State laws restrict someone from:
- Causing or aiding someone in committing or engaging in prostitution.
- Providing persons for acts of prostitution.
- Procuring or soliciting patrons for prostitutes.
- Assisting or operating a prostitution enterprise or house of prostitution.
- Allowing one’s premises to be used for prostitution.
Three degrees separate the seriousness of this offense. Someone who promotes prostitution in the third degree simply benefits or profits from acts of prostitution. This is considered a misdemeanor. A second degree offense is when someone operates or runs a house of prostitution or prostitution enterprise or involves individuals under the age of 18 years old. This is a class C felony. Promoting prostitution in the first degree is a class B felony and is when coercion or violence is used or when an individual younger than 16 years of age is involved.
Hawaii statutes provide for the arrest and punishment of individuals who assemble in public places and attempt to solicit patrons fro or advance prostitution by offering it to passers-by or those driving by in vehicles.
One unique aspect about Hawaii laws about prostitution is that they define specific geographic regions that are high-prostitution areas. Any convictions related to these areas may result in a ban from the geographic region daily from 6 p.m. to 6 a.m. in addition to any other sentences. Individual municipalities and cities may define their own regions.
Promoting travel for prostitution
Anyone who sells or offers travel arrangements within the state that offers acts of prostitution as part of the package may be found guilty of a class C felony.
- Alabama prostitution laws
- Alaska prostitution laws
- Arizona prostitution laws
- Arkansas prostitution laws
- California prostitution laws
- Colorado prostitution laws
- Connecticut prostitution laws
- Delaware prostitution laws
- Florida prostitution laws
- Georgia prostitution laws
- Idaho prostitution laws
- Illinois prostitution laws
- Indiana prostitution laws
- Iowa prostitution laws
- Kansas prostitution laws
- Kentucky prostitution laws
- Louisiana prostitution laws
- Maine prostitution laws
- Maryland prostitution laws
- Massachusetts prostitution laws
- Michigan prostitution laws
- Minnesota prostitution laws
- Mississippi prostitution laws
- Missouri prostitution laws
- Montana prostitution laws
- Nebraska prostitution laws
- Nevada prostitution laws
- New Hampshire prostitution laws
- New Jersey prostitution laws
- New Mexico prostitution laws
- New York prostitution laws
- North Carolina prostitution laws
- North Dakota prostitution laws
- Ohio prostitution laws
- Oklahoma prostitution laws
- Oregon prostitution laws
- Pennsylvania prostitution laws
- Rhode Island prostitution laws
- South Carolina prostitution laws
- South Dakota prostitution laws
- Tennessee prostitution laws
- Texas prostitution laws
- Utah prostitution laws
- Vermont prostitution laws
- Virginia prostitution laws
- Washington prostitution laws
- West Virginia prostitution laws
- Wisconsin prostitution laws
- Wyoming prostitution laws
The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:
- Prostitution laws in Churchill County
- Prostitution laws in Lander County
- Prostitution laws in Lyon County
- Prostitution laws in Nye County
- Prostitution laws in Storey County
Prostitution laws in US cities:
- Prostitution laws in Chicago
- Prostitution laws in Dallas
- Prostitution laws in Houston
- Prostitution laws in Las Vegas
- Prostitution laws in Los Angeles
- Prostitution laws in New York City
- Prostitution laws in Phoenix
- Prostitution laws in San Francisco
- Prostitution laws in Seattle