Massage therapy licensing guidelines: Wisconsin

Massage therapists in Wisconsin receive their licenses to practice as professionals from the Massage Therapy Board, which is overseen by the Wisconsin Department of Regulation and Licensing. General requirements exist in order for someone to legally practice as a massage therapist, and it takes obtaining an education specific to massage therapy along with passage of a national examination for those who wish to become massage therapists. Wisconsin escorts who wish to transition their skills into massage therapy must meet the required guidelines set forth by the board. These are the guidelines:

  • Candidates must be at least 18 years of age.
  • Applicants must provide proof of graduation from high school or passage of the equivalent standards.
  • Candidates are required to submit an official, completed application with non-refundable application fee.
  • Applicants must provide official transcripts showing education received from a board-approved massage therapy program or school. The education must consist of at least 600 hours of coursework and fit a curriculum approved by the Massage Therapy Board. At least 6 hours covering Wisconsin laws and statutes regarding licensing must be included in an applicant’s education.
  • Candidates must prove through documentation they are certified through a professional organization to use an automated external defibrillator.
  • Candidates must submit official proof of passage of the state examination covering Wisconsin laws and regulations.
  • Applicants are required to provide official reports proving their passage of a national massage therapy examination, such as the National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodyworks (NCETMB).
  • Candidates for licensing must show proof of malpractice and liability insurance coverage of at least $1,000,000 per year and occurrence.
  • Applicants having criminal records involving conviction of felonies, violent offenses or sexually-related crimes may be denied licenses. Furthermore, licensees who are convicted of these offenses may have their licenses revoked or suspended.
  • Candidates for licenses who hold massage therapy licenses from other states or countries with similar guidelines may be granted a reciprocal massage therapy license.
  • Licensees are required to obtain continuing education credits as set forth by the Massage Therapy Board in order to renew their licenses every 2 years.