The laws regarding prostitution in Arizona are not unlike other states, but they do clearly define sexual conduct and other acts and strictly prohibit persuading a spouse to become engaged in a professional career of prostitution. Many of the laws are fairly general, but this rundown of the Arizona statutes should help to more clearly define them.
Unlike some other states, Arizona has a law that specifically prohibits transporting someone within the state for the purpose of acts that are defined as prostitution. Considered a Class 5 Felony, anyone found guilty of breaking this law will be prosecuted in the county in which he or she was apprehended. The crime is considered to have occurred not where it started but where it is detected.
Definition of prostitution
In Arizona, prostitution is considered to be the engagement in or agreeing to or offering to engage in sexual conduct with another person in exchange for a fee or an item of value. The item of value may be anything that both persons involved in the exchange put a significance on. Always a tangible item, money, drugs, clothing, vehicle, shelter, food, the “fee” is agreed upon prior to any sexual acts being performed. Sexual conduct is considered to be sexual contact, sexual intercourse, oral sexual contact or sadomasochistic abuse, according to the Arizona legislature.
Prostitution in Arizona as a felony/misdemeanor
There are several aspects of prostitution that are considered felonious. Class 5 and Class 6 felony convictions are possible if convicted of specific prostitution charges.
- If you entice or encourage any individual to engage in prostitution, either by up-front means or fraudulent or false representation, you may be charged with a Class 6 Felony.
- Providing a place (building, house, apartment, condo, etc.) for the purpose of prostitution may land you in jail with a Class 5 Felony conviction.
- If you receive money or other valuables or earnings from someone engaged in the prostitution industry, you may be held on Class 5 Felony charges.
- Any time that you cause your spouse to become engaged in prostitution or acts of prostitution through fraud, force or intimidation, it may be a Class 5 Felony.
- Pandering, putting an individual in the custody of another for the intent of committing acts of prostitution or convincing one to engage in prostitution, may result in a guilty conviction of a Class 5 Felony.
- Being an employee or simply residing in a house of prostitution can result in being charged with a Class 1 Misdemeanor.
- Class 5 felonies are typically punishable with prison time of 18 months and/or a fine of up to $150,000.
- A Class 1 misdemeanor sentence is 15 days jail time on the first offense. The second offense gets the convicted party 30 days. A 60-day stay in jail is earned with a third offense, and a fourth offense ends in the conviction of a Class 5 felony, receiving 18 months in prison.
While the laws stipulated by the Arizona statutes are very clear, cities and towns are allowed by the legislature to pass more stringent laws concerning prostitution. Many of these laws have harsher sentences. It’s a wise idea to check with individual city’s codes and statutes to avoid any misunderstanding of the law in Arizona.
- Alabama prostitution laws
- Alaska prostitution laws
- Arizona prostitution laws
- Arkansas prostitution laws
- California prostitution laws
- Colorado prostitution laws
- Connecticut prostitution laws
- Delaware prostitution laws
- Florida prostitution laws
- Georgia prostitution laws
- Hawaii prostitution laws
- Idaho prostitution laws
- Illinois prostitution laws
- Indiana prostitution laws
- Iowa prostitution laws
- Kansas prostitution laws
- Kentucky prostitution laws
- Louisiana prostitution laws
- Maine prostitution laws
- Maryland prostitution laws
- Massachusetts prostitution laws
- Michigan prostitution laws
- Minnesota prostitution laws
- Mississippi prostitution laws
- Missouri prostitution laws
- Montana prostitution laws
- Nebraska prostitution laws
- Nevada prostitution laws
- New Hampshire prostitution laws
- New Jersey prostitution laws
- New Mexico prostitution laws
- New York prostitution laws
- North Carolina prostitution laws
- North Dakota prostitution laws
- Ohio prostitution laws
- Oklahoma prostitution laws
- Oregon prostitution laws
- Pennsylvania prostitution laws
- Rhode Island prostitution laws
- South Carolina prostitution laws
- South Dakota prostitution laws
- Tennessee prostitution laws
- Texas prostitution laws
- Utah prostitution laws
- Vermont prostitution laws
- Virginia prostitution laws
- Washington prostitution laws
- West Virginia prostitution laws
- Wisconsin prostitution laws
- Wyoming prostitution laws
The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:
- Prostitution laws in Churchill County
- Prostitution laws in Lander County
- Prostitution laws in Lyon County
- Prostitution laws in Nye County
- Prostitution laws in Storey County
Prostitution laws in US cities:
- Prostitution laws in Chicago
- Prostitution laws in Dallas
- Prostitution laws in Houston
- Prostitution laws in Las Vegas
- Prostitution laws in Los Angeles
- Prostitution laws in New York City
- Prostitution laws in Philadelphia
- Prostitution laws in Phoenix
- Prostitution laws in San Francisco
- Prostitution laws in Seattle