Indiana prostitution law

Indiana’s laws prohibiting prostitution are relatively short, sweet and to-the-point. Only pointing out three major aspects to prostitution, the sentences for each offense are somewhat cut-and-dried, as well.

Prostitution is illegal

A prostitute is defined by Indiana law as anyone who knowingly or intentionally performs, offers or agrees to be a part of sexual intercourse or performs deviate sexual conduct for a fee. One additional part of this law includes the prohibition of fondling or offering to fondle another’s genitals in exchange for money or other valuable property.

Prostitution is considered a class A misdemeanor upon first conviction, with a possible sentence of up to 1 year in jail and a fine of up to $5,000. On the third conviction, it becomes a class C felony, and the sentence is 6 months to 3 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000.

Patronization is illegal

According to Indiana statutes, any person who knowingly or intentionally pays or offers to pay with valuables, property or money in exchange for sexual intercourse or deviate sexual conduct is guilty of patronizing a prostitute. Furthermore, agreeing to or having one’s genitals fondled in exchange for a fee is illegal as a form of patronization.

Patronization is defined as a class A misdemeanor. The sentence is $5,000 and possible jail time of up to 1 year. If three convictions occur, the offense is scaled up to a class C felony with a sentence of $10,000 and a prison term of 6 months to 3 years.

Promotion of prostitution is illegal

Indiana law restricts someone from knowingly or intentionally compelling or enticing someone to become a prostitute. It is also illegal to offer someone as a prostitute for someone else. The law also prohibits someone from having control over the use of a place and permitting its use as a place of prostitution. Pimping, or receiving money or other valuables that are knowingly derived from acts of prostitution is illegal, under Indiana law, as well.

Considered a class C felony, these offenses become more serious when or if they involve someone under the age of 18 years old. The offense then becomes a class B felony.

While the laws are somewhat short and to-the-point, most offenses dealing with the trade of prostitution can be summed up using one of Indiana’s statutes.


The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:

Prostitution laws in US cities:

Prostitution laws in Canada