While Louisiana is known for parties and good times with its famous Mardi Gras celebration, its laws are a bit of a party pooper when it concerns prostitution within the state. Prostitution is strictly prohibited by the Pelican State with very detailed laws specifying several offenses related to the initial crime.
In Louisiana, prostitution is considered the participation in indiscriminate sexual intercourse with others in exchange for compensation or a fee. It’s also defined as the solicitation by one person of another with the intention to engage in indiscriminate sexual intercourse with the latter for compensation. The sentence upon the first conviction isn’t that serious with just a sentence up to 6 months and/or a fine up to $500. However, the second conviction gets a defendant up to 2 years in imprisonment and/or a fine up to $2,000. If a defendant is convicted of three or more offenses, he or she may receive a sentence of 2 to 4 years and/or a fine up to $4,000 for each offense.
Furthermore, if a prostitute is convicted and the offense is alleged to have occurred along a public roadway, highway, walkway or sidewalk, an immediate sentence of at least 90 days imprisonment is required. If the sentence is suspended, it may be replaced with 240 hours of community service and served by picking up litter and trash along the area roads.
All who are convicted of prostitution in Louisiana are sent to the area health clinic for AIDS counseling.
Louisiana makes it evidently clear through its laws that it does not tolerate minors being involved in the prostitution trade. It is highly illegal to patronize a prostitute under the age of 17 years old. (The only exception to this rule is if the patron is less than 2 years older than the prostitute.) It is also illegal for parents or guardians to consent to a minor’s engagement in prostitution. Offenders may receive sentences of fines up to $5,000 and/or prison time, with or without hard labor, for 2 to 10 years.
Solicitation, inciting or promoting prostitution
In Louisiana, the state statutes define solicitation as when one invites, directs, induces or transports another with the intention of promoting prostitution. Convictions result in sentences of jail time for up to 6 months and/or a possible fine up to $500.
Inciting prostitution is clearly defined and prohibited by state law. It is when one aids, assists or abets in an enterprise for profit in which:
- Customers (or patrons) are charged a fee for services which include prostitution. (It doesn’t matter whether the entire fee is for prostitution or not.)
- One knows or should know he is aiding and abetting the continuation of prostitution.
- Proceeds or profits are split between the prostitute and the one aiding or abetting.
Fines for inciting prostitution may reach $1,000 and offenders may spend up to 1 year in jail.
The state of Louisiana very carefully covered the issue of massage and erotic massage. Massages that include any degree of sexual conduct are prohibited and illegal. It is against state law to fondle, touch, caress or stroke the genital area, anus , pubic hair or the female nipples while performing a massage. Other sexual conduct that includes sadomasochistic abuse, torture or flagellation is considered illegal, as well. Sentences for guilty offenders are fines up to $500 and jail time up to 6 months.
There are several elements defined within the offense of pandering. All aspects of pandering are illegal and face stiff sentences. It is illegal to:
- Entice, force, coerce or encourage anyone to become a prostitute through promises, threats or other schemes.
- Maintain a place of prostitution.
- Detain or hold anyone by force, promises or other schemes for the purpose of prostitution.
- Receive money or other profits as a result of acts of prostitution by another.
- Give consent as a parent or guardian for a child/ward to enter into prostitution.
- Transport anyone for the purpose of prostitution.
Sentences include fines up to $5,000 and imprisonment for up to 5 years.
- Alabama prostitution laws
- Alaska prostitution laws
- Arizona prostitution laws
- Arkansas prostitution laws
- California prostitution laws
- Colorado prostitution laws
- Connecticut prostitution laws
- Delaware prostitution laws
- Florida prostitution laws
- Georgia prostitution laws
- Hawaii prostitution laws
- Idaho prostitution laws
- Illinois prostitution laws
- Indiana prostitution laws
- Iowa prostitution laws
- Kansas prostitution laws
- Kentucky prostitution laws
- Louisiana prostitution laws
- Maine prostitution laws
- Maryland prostitution laws
- Massachusetts prostitution laws
- Michigan prostitution laws
- Minnesota prostitution laws
- Mississippi prostitution laws
- Missouri prostitution laws
- Montana prostitution laws
- Nebraska prostitution laws
- Nevada prostitution laws
- New Hampshire prostitution laws
- New Jersey prostitution laws
- New Mexico prostitution laws
- New York prostitution laws
- North Carolina prostitution laws
- North Dakota prostitution laws
- Ohio prostitution laws
- Oklahoma prostitution laws
- Oregon prostitution laws
- Pennsylvania prostitution laws
- Rhode Island prostitution laws
- South Carolina prostitution laws
- South Dakota prostitution laws
- Tennessee prostitution laws
- Texas prostitution laws
- Utah prostitution laws
- Vermont prostitution laws
- Virginia prostitution laws
- Washington prostitution laws
- West Virginia prostitution laws
- Wisconsin prostitution laws
- Wyoming prostitution laws
The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:
- Prostitution laws in Churchill County
- Prostitution laws in Lander County
- Prostitution laws in Lyon County
- Prostitution laws in Nye County
- Prostitution laws in Storey County
Prostitution laws in US cities:
- Prostitution laws in Chicago
- Prostitution laws in Dallas
- Prostitution laws in Houston
- Prostitution laws in Las Vegas
- Prostitution laws in Los Angeles
- Prostitution laws in New York City
- Prostitution laws in Philadelphia
- Prostitution laws in Phoenix
- Prostitution laws in San Francisco
- Prostitution laws in Seattle