Michigan prostitution law

Prostitution laws in Michigan cover several aspects of the crime of prostitution and involve sentences ranging from a simple fine to up to 20 years in state prison. Females are singled out within the laws and statutes, and the laws indicate the prostitutes are often considered victims of their pimps.

Prostitution in Michigan involves the engagement of sexual acts in exchange for a fee or other valuables. The first offense for this crime is simply a jail term of up to 93 days and/or a fine up to $500. Many first-time offenders have their sentences suspended or decreased. Subsequent offenses, however, have more serious penalties.

Patrons of prostitution incur the same sentences as prostitutes, but are defined as any male person who engages or offers to engage the services of a female person, not his wife, for the purpose of prostitution, lewdness or assignation for payment of money or other valuables.

House of Ill-fame

Houses of ill-fame are strictly prohibited by Michigan laws. Anyone who maintains, keeps or operates a house of ill-fame (or anyone who assists) may be convicted of a felony and sent to state prison for up to 5 years. An alternative sentence may be a fine of $2,500 added to the imprisonment or the fine, itself. Leasing, renting or letting a house or apartment or other place for the purpose of prostitution can result in a misdemeanor conviction and a sentence of up to 6 months in jail and/or a fine up to $750. Additionally, it is a felony to detain a woman in a house of ill-fame because of debts she owes.

Pandering is illegal in Michigan, much like it is throughout the rest of the United States. Pandering, a felony, includes the procurement of a female for a house of prostitution, inducing someone to become a prostitute, promising or threatening a woman so she becomes a prostitute, placing a woman into prostitute through the pretense of marriage or the receipt of money or valuables for procuring prostitutes is strictly prohibited by Michigan state statutes. A guilty offender may be sentenced to a sentence of up to 20 years in prison.

Accepting the earnings or proceeds from acts of prostitutes is a felony and punishable with prison time of up to 20 years.

Transportation of women through or across the state for the act of prostitution is a felony offense. Sentences for guilty defendants range from 2 to 20 years in prison.

One interesting aspect of prostitution law is that anyone with evidence or pertinent testimony, even if it is incriminating, is required to give it regarding a prostitution conviction. However, this incriminating testimony may not be used to convict the testifying individual.

The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:

Prostitution laws in US cities:

Prostitution laws in Canada