The promotion of prostitution in Minnesota is something definitely frowned upon by law enforcement officials. Penalties are quite harsh for the promotion of the crime, as are penalties for involving minors. With some of the most severe penalties in the country, Minnesota laws address the prohibition of prostitution very clearly.
Prostitution is the act of agreeing to engage in or engaging in sexual penetration or contact on a for-hire basis. Sexual contact is defined as intentional touching of intimate/private parts by a prostitute or on a prostitute in order to satisfy sexual urges. The law also specifies sexual penetration as cunnilingus, fellatio, sexual intercourse, anal intercourse or any other intrusion (however slight) into genital or anal openings by any part of another’s body or any object used for purposes of satisfying sexual impulses. The emission of semen is unnecessary in order for sexual penetration to occur, according to Minnesota law.
On a first offense, a defendant may be sentenced to jail time for up to 90 days and/or fined up to $1,000. Community service may be substituted for partial sentencing. Second (and additional) offenses may receive a harsher sentence of up to 1 year in jail and a fine up to $3,000.
One who is a patron of a prostitute can be sentenced to a jail term for 90 days and incur a fine of $500. Second and additional offenses are punished with up to 1 year in jail and a fine from $1,500 to $3,000.
Promotion of prostitution
There are several crimes that qualify as the promotion of prostitution. They each have a sentence base of up to 15 years in prison and/or fines up to $30,000. Crimes included are:
- Solicitation or procurement of patrons for a prostitute.
- Leasing, providing, permitting or allowing the use of a place of premises in order to aid the practice of prostitution.
- Managing, owning, operating or supervising a place of prostitution.
- Managing, owning, operating or supervising a business of prostitution.
- Allowing admission of a patron into a place of prostitution.
- Transportation of an individual within the state or into the state for the purpose of prostitution.
- Engagement in sex trafficking. (Recruiting, harboring, obtaining, receiving or enticing by any means necessary an individual to practice prostitution and engage in acts of prostitution.
Acting as a pimp is illegal in Minnesota. Punishable with a prison term of up to 15 years and/or fines not exceeding $30,000, the act of solicitation is prohibited. This includes the solicitation or inducement of individuals to practice prostitution, promotion of prostitution by a specific individual or receiving profit from a prostitute’s earnings. Anytime that a minor under the age of 18 years old is involved the sentence increases to 20 years in prison and fines up to $40,000.
There are exceptions to this law. A minor who is dependent upon a prostitute or a parent over the age of 55 who is unaware of the source of the earnings is not held to this statutes penalties. Additionally, anyone who engages in the sale of goods or services within an ordinary process of business is not found guilty of receiving profit from a prostitute’s earnings.
Exceptions and Other Penalties
Sex trafficking victims and victims of labor trafficking are exempt from conviction of prostitution-related crimes.
More severe penalties are given to those who commit crimes in “Park Zones” and “School Zones”.
The crime of loitering in a public place is illegal and considered a misdemeanor in Minnesota.
- Alabama prostitution laws
- Alaska prostitution laws
- Arizona prostitution laws
- Arkansas prostitution laws
- California prostitution laws
- Colorado prostitution laws
- Connecticut prostitution laws
- Delaware prostitution laws
- Florida prostitution laws
- Georgia prostitution laws
- Hawaii prostitution laws
- Idaho prostitution laws
- Illinois prostitution laws
- Indiana prostitution laws
- Iowa prostitution laws
- Kansas prostitution laws
- Kentucky prostitution laws
- Louisiana prostitution laws
- Maine prostitution laws
- Maryland prostitution laws
- Massachusetts prostitution laws
- Michigan prostitution laws
- Minnesota prostitution laws
- Mississippi prostitution laws
- Missouri prostitution laws
- Montana prostitution laws
- Nebraska prostitution laws
- Nevada prostitution laws
- New Hampshire prostitution laws
- New Jersey prostitution laws
- New Mexico prostitution laws
- New York prostitution laws
- North Carolina prostitution laws
- North Dakota prostitution laws
- Ohio prostitution laws
- Oklahoma prostitution laws
- Oregon prostitution laws
- Pennsylvania prostitution laws
- Rhode Island prostitution laws
- South Carolina prostitution laws
- South Dakota prostitution laws
- Tennessee prostitution laws
- Texas prostitution laws
- Utah prostitution laws
- Vermont prostitution laws
- Virginia prostitution laws
- Washington prostitution laws
- West Virginia prostitution laws
- Wisconsin prostitution laws
- Wyoming prostitution laws
The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:
- Prostitution laws in Churchill County
- Prostitution laws in Lander County
- Prostitution laws in Lyon County
- Prostitution laws in Nye County
- Prostitution laws in Storey County
Prostitution laws in US cities:
- Prostitution laws in Chicago
- Prostitution laws in Dallas
- Prostitution laws in Houston
- Prostitution laws in Las Vegas
- Prostitution laws in Los Angeles
- Prostitution laws in New York City
- Prostitution laws in Philadelphia
- Prostitution laws in Phoenix
- Prostitution laws in San Francisco
- Prostitution laws in Seattle