Prostitution law in Storey County, Nevada

As the second smallest county in Nevada and located only 26 miles from downtown Reno, Storey County has a lot to offer its residents, visitors and tourists. In addition to historic attractions and gold mining museums, Storey County also allows legal prostitution within the parameters of county statutes. Brothels are licensed houses of prostitution in Storey County.

Licensing laws and restrictions

Prostitution is legal in Storey County, as long as it is committed in licensed brothels. Applications are required to become licensed. The application process is lengthy and requires divulging much personal information by the applicant. A $3,000 nonrefundable investigation fee must be paid at the time of the submission of the application, along with the first quarter’s licensure fee.

The application requires personal information about the applicant and shareholders including names, ages, addresses, recent photographs, fingerprints, 5 years worth of employment history and income tax returns, criminal record information, professionally prepared financial statements, lists of all dependents under age 18 and personal references.

A license may be denied to an applicant for several reasons including a felony in one’s history (or one’s spouse’s history), proof of being financially insolvent or irresponsible, evidence of false statements on the application, illegal business interests or a balance of past due child support. An applicant may also be denied based on age if he or she is under the age of 21 years old.

Once a license is administered, there are certain restrictions that owners must know about. Some of the restrictions are:

  • Signs: Brothels may have up to three appropriate signs (approved by the board). Sign faces may only have black and white as the colors on them.
  • Fences: Each brothel’s property perimeter must be lined with a fence that is at least 6-feet tall. An entrance gate must be present that is lockable from the inside.
  • Location: No brothel may be located near a church, hospital, school, military/naval reservation, playgrounds, residential areas, historic district or attractions, gambling houses, motels or hotels, cocktail lounges or other brothels.
  • Other prohibitions: No gambling or illegal narcotics will be allowed on premises.

Licenses, once awarded, are non-transferrable. If the property moves locations, a new license must be applied for.

All brothel owners must ensure administration of regular medical examinations for the employed prostitutes. A weekly screen for gonorrhea, Chlamydia and lesions must be conducted. If any prostitute fails the weekly screen, he or she shall be prohibited from working until a clean medical certificate may be presented.

Work permit registrations

All employees and prostitutes in brothels must apply to the county for a work permit. The registration process is much like the licensing application for brothel ownership. Many personal questions are included in the information sought about the applicant.

At the time of application, the employee must present a current, valid health certificate and proof that he or she is at least 18 years old. A criminal history check will be conducted, and if the applicant is found to have a history including convictions for controlled substances, theft, firearms, shoplifting or any felony, he or she will be denied. This application process is for all employees: prostitutes, maids, janitors, managers, bartenders and anyone else employed by the brothel.


Anyone found in violation of any of these terms is subject to arrest. Convicted offenders may be sentenced to a fine that does not exceed $1,000 and/or time in jail for up to 6 months.

The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:

Prostitution laws in US cities:

Prostitution laws in Canada