Tennessee, just like the other states in the U.S., prohibits prostitution and crimes related to the offense. Clearly defining what prostitution is, the laws prohibit anyone from engaging in the act as a business or benefiting from the promotion of the crime. Classifying the offenses as both misdemeanors and felonies, various sentences are mandated for different aspects of the crime.
Prostitution as a crime
The laws in Tennessee explicitly define the crime of prostitution and the actions of one who is guilty of the offense. Any individual who engages in or offers to engage in any level of sexual activity in exchange for a fee is a prostitute. Essentially, prostitution is defined as performing sexual acts as a business service. Someone who acts as an inmate in a house of prostitution and engages in sex for money under the direction of someone else is guilty of prostitution. Also, a person who loiters or wanders in a public place with the intention of being hired to perform sexual acts for money is a prostitute.
Typical sentences for prostitution convictions are imprisonment for up to 6 months and/or a $500 fine. The offense is classified as a class B misdemeanor.
The offense becomes more serious when it is committed within a mile and one-half of a school (K – 12) or within 100 feet of a church. It becomes a class A misdemeanor and the sentence mandates that one spends at least 7 days incarcerated and pays at least $1,000 as a fine.
Patronization of prostitutes
If there are prostitutes, there are always patrons or customers. Patronization of prostitutes is illegal in Tennessee. Anyone who solicits or hires another person with the intent that the other person will perform sexual acts for a fee is a patron. Also, an individual who enters or remains in a house of prostitution and plans to engage in sexual activity is guilty of patronization.
The sentence for patronization is up to 6 months in jail and/or a fine up to $500. It is a class B misdemeanor. The sentence gets stricter when the offense is committed within 100 feet of a church or with a mile and a half of a school. Sentences increase to at least 7 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.
Promotion of prostitution
Promotion of prostitution is a class E felony and carries a sentence of 1 to 6 years in prison and/or a fine up to $3,000 for each offense.
Various crimes are included in the promotion classification. One of the most common related crimes is maintaining, owning or supervising a house of prostitution. This crime, along with procuring inmates for that house or business, is illegal. Promotion also includes when an individual causes another person to become a prostitute or remain in the business of prostitution.
Pimping is a form or promotion. One who is guilty of pimping may have solicited or recruited patrons or customers for current prostitutes. Additionally, providing access to prostitutes for customers or patrons is a form of pimping. This is unlawful according to Tennessee state statutes.
Finally, anyone who receives, accepts or asks for benefits or compensation as a result of committing any crime of promotion is guilty of a felony. This includes one who requests proceeds from prostitutes or income from an operational house of prostitution or prostitution enterprise.
- Alabama prostitution laws
- Alaska prostitution laws
- Arizona prostitution laws
- Arkansas prostitution laws
- California prostitution laws
- Colorado prostitution laws
- Connecticut prostitution laws
- Delaware prostitution laws
- Florida prostitution laws
- Georgia prostitution laws
- Hawaii prostitution laws
- Idaho prostitution laws
- Illinois prostitution laws
- Indiana prostitution laws
- Iowa prostitution laws
- Kansas prostitution laws
- Kentucky prostitution laws
- Louisiana prostitution laws
- Maine prostitution laws
- Maryland prostitution laws
- Massachusetts prostitution laws
- Michigan prostitution laws
- Minnesota prostitution laws
- Mississippi prostitution laws
- Missouri prostitution laws
- Montana prostitution laws
- Nebraska prostitution laws
- Nevada prostitution laws
- New Hampshire prostitution laws
- New Jersey prostitution laws
- New Mexico prostitution laws
- New York prostitution laws
- North Carolina prostitution laws
- North Dakota prostitution laws
- Ohio prostitution laws
- Oklahoma prostitution laws
- Oregon prostitution laws
- Pennsylvania prostitution laws
- Rhode Island prostitution laws
- South Carolina prostitution laws
- South Dakota prostitution laws
- Tennessee prostitution laws
- Texas prostitution laws
- Utah prostitution laws
- Vermont prostitution laws
- Virginia prostitution laws
- Washington prostitution laws
- West Virginia prostitution laws
- Wisconsin prostitution laws
- Wyoming prostitution laws
The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:
- Prostitution laws in Churchill County
- Prostitution laws in Lander County
- Prostitution laws in Lyon County
- Prostitution laws in Nye County
- Prostitution laws in Storey County
Prostitution laws in US cities:
- Prostitution laws in Chicago
- Prostitution laws in Dallas
- Prostitution laws in Houston
- Prostitution laws in Las Vegas
- Prostitution laws in Los Angeles
- Prostitution laws in New York City
- Prostitution laws in Philadelphia
- Prostitution laws in Phoenix
- Prostitution laws in San Francisco
- Prostitution laws in Seattle