Prostitution and related crimes are prohibited in Utah and clearly explained within the state’s statutes and laws. Ranging in severity from class B misdemeanor classification to 2nd degree felony charges, prostitution and the promotion of it are strictly forbidden and the laws are strictly enforced.
Prostitutes and patronization
Prostitutes in Utah are defined as anyone who engages in sexual activity for a fee. “Sexual activity” is defined as any acts of sexual intercourse, masturbation or sexual activity that involves the genitals of one individual and the mouth or anus of another individual. It doesn’t matter which sex the individuals are. Additionally, prostitutes may be inmates of houses of prostitution or anyone who loiters in a public place with the intent of being hired to perform sexual exacts for a fee.
Sentences for a first conviction result in a class B misdemeanor charge with a sentence of up to 6 months in jail and/or a fine up to $1,000. However, offenders who are charged two or more times for this crime are found guilty of class A misdemeanors and may serve up to 1 year in jail and possibly pay a $2,500 fine for each offense.
Patrons of prostitutes are considered anyone who pays or offers to pay for sexual acts to be performed on him or her by a prostitute. Also, anyone who enters or remains inside a house of prostitution with the intent of paying for a sexual act is defined as a patron.
Patrons are subjected to a class B misdemeanor charge and up to 6 months in jail and/or a fine up to $1,000, if found guilty.
One who aids prostitution in any way is considered an offender of the law. Four definitions are provided by Utah legislators to help define this portion of the law that prohibits prostitution-related crimes. Someone who solicits a patron for a prostitute or produces a prostitute for a patron is considered aiding the crime. Anyone who leases or permits property under their control or ownership to be used regularly for prostitution may be charged with aiding. Finally, anyone who receives benefit or compensation for performing any of the previously mentioned crimes can be convicted of aiding.
The sentencing policies for aiding prostitution is much like the sentencing for prostitutes. First-time offenders are charged with class B misdemeanors, and subsequent offenders face class A misdemeanor charges.
Exploitation of prostitution is a much more serious crime that faces a much stricter penalty. Someone who is procures a prostitute to be an inmate in a house of prostitution is considered guilty of exploitation.
Owning, maintaining or supervising a house of prostitution or a prostitution enterprise is considered in conflict with the law. Encouraging or purposely causing another person to be a prostitute or to remain in the business of prostitution is considered exploitation. Transporting someone into or within the state of Utah for the explicit purpose of promotion prostitution is illegal. Also unlawful is sharing the proceeds from prostitution (as someone other than a dependant or child of a prostitute).
Individuals who are found guilty of exploitation face 3rd degree felony charges and sentences of up to 5 years in prison and/or fines up to $5,000.
The charges and sentences get more serious when it is upgraded to aggravated prostitution, which is a 2nd degree felony. Someone who utilizes fear, force or threats in order to cause someone to engage in prostitution is guilty of aggravated prostitution. Additionally, any promotion of prostitution involving a minor younger than 18 years old or one’s own wife is considered a 2nd degree felony.
- Alabama prostitution laws
- Alaska prostitution laws
- Arizona prostitution laws
- Arkansas prostitution laws
- California prostitution laws
- Colorado prostitution laws
- Connecticut prostitution laws
- Delaware prostitution laws
- Florida prostitution laws
- Georgia prostitution laws
- Hawaii prostitution laws
- Idaho prostitution laws
- Illinois prostitution laws
- Indiana prostitution laws
- Iowa prostitution laws
- Kansas prostitution laws
- Kentucky prostitution laws
- Louisiana prostitution laws
- Maine prostitution laws
- Maryland prostitution laws
- Massachusetts prostitution laws
- Michigan prostitution laws
- Minnesota prostitution laws
- Mississippi prostitution laws
- Missouri prostitution laws
- Montana prostitution laws
- Nebraska prostitution laws
- Nevada prostitution laws
- New Hampshire prostitution laws
- New Jersey prostitution laws
- New Mexico prostitution laws
- New York prostitution laws
- North Carolina prostitution laws
- North Dakota prostitution laws
- Ohio prostitution laws
- Oklahoma prostitution laws
- Oregon prostitution laws
- Pennsylvania prostitution laws
- Rhode Island prostitution laws
- South Carolina prostitution laws
- South Dakota prostitution laws
- Tennessee prostitution laws
- Texas prostitution laws
- Utah prostitution laws
- Vermont prostitution laws
- Virginia prostitution laws
- Washington prostitution laws
- West Virginia prostitution laws
- Wisconsin prostitution laws
- Wyoming prostitution laws
The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:
- Prostitution laws in Churchill County
- Prostitution laws in Lander County
- Prostitution laws in Lyon County
- Prostitution laws in Nye County
- Prostitution laws in Storey County
Prostitution laws in US cities:
- Prostitution laws in Chicago
- Prostitution laws in Dallas
- Prostitution laws in Houston
- Prostitution laws in Las Vegas
- Prostitution laws in Los Angeles
- Prostitution laws in New York City
- Prostitution laws in Philadelphia
- Prostitution laws in Phoenix
- Prostitution laws in San Francisco
- Prostitution laws in Seattle