Vermont law prohibits prostitution with four detailed sections specifying various prostitution-related crimes that are unlawful. The four sections explicitly define slave trafficking, unlawful procurement and other related acts. Although the penalties for committing prostitution or other crimes are not as severe in Vermont as in other states, breaking the laws still have unwanted consequences.
Prostitution and prohibited acts
Prostitution is defined as the offering or receiving of one’s body for sexual intercourse for hire. Unlike most other states, Vermont’s definition also includes any incident where one offers or receives a body for indiscriminate sexual intercourse without the parameters of being for hire. Engagement in such acts is unlawful. Additionally, anyone who assists or aids in the act of prostitution is subject to criminal charges.
According to the statutes, nine various crimes that specifically deal with one engaging in prostitution are illegal in Vermont. Firstly, the laws define occupying a place, structure, building or conveyance for the purpose of prostitution as illegal. One who permits such a place owned by him or herself to be utilized for the purpose of prostitution is also breaking the law.
Receiving a person into a place or permitting them to stay for the purpose of prostitution is considered unlawful by the laws of Vermont. Transportation to any place or a person for the purpose of prostitution is illegal.
Someone who is responsible for soliciting or procuring a person for prostitution or encourages another to stay or reside in a place of prostitution is punishable by law.
Sentencing for all of these crimes is imprisonment for up to 1 year or a fine up to $100 for the first offense. If an offender is caught a second time, he or she faces imprisonment for up to 3 years.
Vermont statutes prohibit the crime of slave trafficking and punish it with imprisonment for 1 to 10 years and/or fines from $200 to $2,000.
Statutes indicate that anyone who induces or entices someone to come into or leave the state of Vermont for the purpose of prostitution is guilty of slave trafficking. Aiding transportation for said person is also unlawful.
Included in this statute is placement in a house of prostitution. Anyone who places a person in such a place or compels a person to reside in a house of prostitution is guilty of breaking the law.
This statute of the law targets people who recruit business for the enterprise of prostitution. Inducing or compelling a person or procurement of a person to enter a house of prostitution is punishable with a sentence that includes imprisonment. Furthermore, anyone who receives money or other valuables as a result of placing a person in a house of prostitution faces a sentence of 1 to 10 years in prison and/or a fine from $200 to $2,000.
Levying earnings of a prostitute
It is illegal in Vermont to detain or hold a person in a house of prostitution in order to compel that person’s service in order to pay or cancel a debt owed.
Also, anyone who accepts or receives money or other valuables from a prostitute’s proceeds is breaking the law.
- Alabama prostitution laws
- Alaska prostitution laws
- Arizona prostitution laws
- Arkansas prostitution laws
- California prostitution laws
- Colorado prostitution laws
- Connecticut prostitution laws
- Delaware prostitution laws
- Florida prostitution laws
- Georgia prostitution laws
- Hawaii prostitution laws
- Idaho prostitution laws
- Illinois prostitution laws
- Indiana prostitution laws
- Iowa prostitution laws
- Kansas prostitution laws
- Kentucky prostitution laws
- Louisiana prostitution laws
- Maine prostitution laws
- Maryland prostitution laws
- Massachusetts prostitution laws
- Michigan prostitution laws
- Minnesota prostitution laws
- Mississippi prostitution laws
- Missouri prostitution laws
- Montana prostitution laws
- Nebraska prostitution laws
- Nevada prostitution laws
- New Hampshire prostitution laws
- New Jersey prostitution laws
- New Mexico prostitution laws
- New York prostitution laws
- North Carolina prostitution laws
- North Dakota prostitution laws
- Ohio prostitution laws
- Oklahoma prostitution laws
- Oregon prostitution laws
- Pennsylvania prostitution laws
- Rhode Island prostitution laws
- South Carolina prostitution laws
- South Dakota prostitution laws
- Tennessee prostitution laws
- Texas prostitution laws
- Utah prostitution laws
- Virginia prostitution laws
- Washington prostitution laws
- West Virginia prostitution laws
- Wisconsin prostitution laws
- Wyoming prostitution laws
The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:
- Prostitution laws in Churchill County
- Prostitution laws in Lander County
- Prostitution laws in Lyon County
- Prostitution laws in Nye County
- Prostitution laws in Storey County
Prostitution laws in US cities:
- Prostitution laws in Chicago
- Prostitution laws in Dallas
- Prostitution laws in Houston
- Prostitution laws in Las Vegas
- Prostitution laws in Los Angeles
- Prostitution laws in New York City
- Prostitution laws in Philadelphia
- Prostitution laws in Phoenix
- Prostitution laws in San Francisco
- Prostitution laws in Seattle