Well, evidently a huge amount of people love living in Jersey. You have the highest population density in the country and the densest highway and rail system nationally (anyone who commutes with NJ Transit, crosses the GWB or sets a tire on the Turnpike or Garden State will confirm this—and with 90% of the population of NJ living in a city, that means most of you). Continue reading
New Jersey law prohibits prostitution and an array of related crimes through one main statute with several subsections that define certain behaviors as unlawful. General prostitution does not carry a severe penalty on the first offense, but subsequent offenses receive stricter punishments, as do related crimes of more severity.
Prostitution in New Jersey is defined as engaging in sexual activity with another individual in exchange for something of economic value. Additionally, making an offer for or accepting an offer for compensation in exchange for sexual activity is considered prostitution. Sexual activity includes more than just sexual intercourse, as defined by New Jersey laws. Any genital-to-genital, oral-to-genital, anal-to-genital or oral-to-oral contact may be considered sexual activity. Other inclusions are masturbation; and touching of the genitals, buttocks or female breasts. Any sadistic or masochistic abuse or deviate sexual activity is also included.
Sentencing for the first offense of prostitution is jail time for up to 6 months and/or a fine to be determined by the court. The first offense is considered a disorderly persons offense. Subsequent offenses may receive sentences of up to 18 months imprisonment and/or a fine. These offenses are considered crimes of the 4th degree by the court.
Promotion of prostitution
Several crimes are included in the category of promotion. They all help to promote or facilitate the crime of prostitution through direct action of the defendant. These are the crimes included in the promotion of prostitution:
- Maintaining, controlling or owning a house of prostitution or a prostitution business. A house of prostitution is defined as any place where prostitution is regularly carried on by at least one person under the control or management of another.
- Procuring an inmate for a house of prostitution or reserving a place in a house of prostitution for one who will become an inmate.
- Encouraging or inducing another to become a prostitute or remain in the prostitution business.
- Soliciting another person to patronize a prostitute.
- Procuring or reserving a prostitute for another patron.
- Transporting a person into or within the state of New Jersey for the purpose of the person engaging in prostitution. Also included is the providing of transportation or paying for transportation for this purpose.
- Allowing a premise or place to be used for prostitution regularly. Failing to stop the acts of prostitution by legal means at a place in one’s control also is considered promotion of prostitution.
Promoting prostitution in the 3rd degree
There are three promotion crimes that qualify as crimes of the 3rd degree. The first is when one person compels or forces (by threats or violence) to engage in prostitution or become a prostitute. Secondly, one who promotes the prostitution of his or her spouse may be charged with a crime in the 3rd degree. Someone who engages in prostitution with someone who is younger than 18 years old is guilty of a crime in the 3rd degree. Sentences include 3 to 5 years in prison and/or a fine to be determined by the court.
The court does not recognize the defense that the defendant didn’t know the prostitute was under 18 years old.
When a vehicle is used in any crime related to prostitution, the driver of the vehicle may lose his driving privileges. At the time of conviction, the defendant’s driver’s license is revoked for 6 months.
- Alabama prostitution laws
- Alaska prostitution laws
- Arizona prostitution laws
- Arkansas prostitution laws
- California prostitution laws
- Colorado prostitution laws
- Connecticut prostitution laws
- Delaware prostitution laws
- Florida prostitution laws
- Georgia prostitution laws
- Hawaii prostitution laws
- Idaho prostitution laws
- Illinois prostitution laws
- Indiana prostitution laws
- Iowa prostitution laws
- Kansas prostitution laws
- Kentucky prostitution laws
- Louisiana prostitution laws
- Maine prostitution laws
- Maryland prostitution laws
- Massachusetts prostitution laws
- Michigan prostitution laws
- Minnesota prostitution laws
- Mississippi prostitution laws
- Missouri prostitution laws
- Montana prostitution laws
- Nebraska prostitution laws
- Nevada prostitution laws
- New Hampshire prostitution laws
- New Mexico prostitution laws
- New York prostitution laws
- North Carolina prostitution laws
- North Dakota prostitution laws
- Ohio prostitution laws
- Oklahoma prostitution laws
- Oregon prostitution laws
- Pennsylvania prostitution laws
- Rhode Island prostitution laws
- South Carolina prostitution laws
- South Dakota prostitution laws
- Tennessee prostitution laws
- Texas prostitution laws
- Utah prostitution laws
- Vermont prostitution laws
- Virginia prostitution laws
- Washington prostitution laws
- West Virginia prostitution laws
- Wisconsin prostitution laws
- Wyoming prostitution laws
The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:
- Prostitution laws in Churchill County
- Prostitution laws in Lander County
- Prostitution laws in Lyon County
- Prostitution laws in Nye County
- Prostitution laws in Storey County
Prostitution laws in US cities:
- Prostitution laws in Chicago
- Prostitution laws in Dallas
- Prostitution laws in Houston
- Prostitution laws in Las Vegas
- Prostitution laws in Los Angeles
- Prostitution laws in New York City
- Prostitution laws in Philadelphia
- Prostitution laws in Phoenix
- Prostitution laws in San Francisco
- Prostitution laws in Seattle