Massage therapy licensing guidelines for Oregon

Beginning in 2009, Oregon state law required that all individuals seeking a massage therapy license must undergo criminal background checks in order to obtain eligibility for licensure. All crimes that may indicate that a candidate has a violent past or reports that indicate one has a criminal history that includes crimes that may relate to his or her professional conduct as a massage therapist may cause denial of licensing status by the Oregon Board of Massage. Oregon escorts, like anyone who desires to become a licensed massage therapist in the state must meet the following guidelines:

  • Applicants must pass a criminal background check.
  • Candidates must be at least 18 years of age.
  • Applicants are required to submit a completed application and non-refundable fee. Self disclosure of previous criminal convictions is required on the application. Additionally, a copy of the applicant’s government-issued photo identification is required to accompany the application. The ID may be a state-issued driver’s license, military ID or passport.
  • Candidates must present personal references that attest to their abilities and personal conduct.
  • Applicants must submit proof (through the use of official transcripts) of education from a massage therapy program or school. The curriculum of the program must have included at least 200 hours of anatomy, pathology, physiology and kinesiology courses and at least 300 hours of hydrotherapy, theory of massage, hands-on practice, professional ethics, hygiene/sanitation and client communications instruction. The total number of hours of massage therapy education must be at least 500 hours.
  • Candidates must present proof of their CPR certification.
  • Applicants must send a current photograph to the board.
  • Candidates are required to pass the LMT examination administered by the state of Oregon. The test is given twice per year. Candidates are notified of examination times at least 2 weeks in advance. After passing the LMT examination, candidates are required to pass the Oregon Practical Examination, which quizzes individuals about Oregon statutes and administrative rules.
  • Licensees may renew their licenses with 25 hours of continuing education credit, CPR certification proof and the renewal licensing fee.
  • Licenses may be revoked by the board for many reasons including:
    • Use of intoxicants, controlled substances, drugs or mind-altering substances to the extent that a L.M.T.’s abilities are impaired.
    • Failure to comply with board requests including paperwork, subpoena responses or inspections of facilities.
    • Sexual contact with clients that may involve intercourse, genital-to-genital contact, oral-to-genital contact, oral-to-anal contact, oral-to-oral contact (excluding actions for CPR), breast or genital touching for any purpose other than appropriate examination, masturbation of client or L.M.T. or any other sexualized behavior, comments or gestures.