Alabama prostitution laws

While categorized on the surface as a Class A Misdemeanor offense. It’s important to know the ins and outs of the Alabama laws pertaining to prostitution.

Definition

Essentially, anyone who benefits from or promotes prostitution or acts of prostitution is guilty of prostitution in Alabama. Prohibited acts pretty much run the gamut from any natural sexual act or deviate sexual intercourse to any sexual contact that results in something of value trading hands. Also included is the solicitation of prostitution (either through compulsion or coercion) or entering into any agreement that results in the trade of something of market value for any sexual act. Anything of market value might be jewelry, clothing, housing, food, drugs or money, to name just a few possibilities. Providing a location for prostitution to occur or operating a business that involves prostitution are strictly forbidden by the laws of Alabama.

Prostitution – 1st Degree

Being found guilty of prostitution in the first degree becomes quite serious. As a Class B Felony, it includes the advancement of prostitution by compelling a person or forcing them to engage in sexual or other acts that would be considered prostitution. If minors under the age of 16 years old are involved, the charge becomes even more serious. The fines and punishments for this charge are more severe than the misdemeanor classification.

Prostitution – 2nd Degree

A Class C Felony, a charge of prostitution in the second degree means that you are being accused of advancing or profiting from prostitution by managing or supervising others in the act. Owning a brothel or house used for the act of prostitution puts you in this category. Additionally, overseeing a prostitution ring of 2 or more prostitutes (excluding the defendant) is considered prostitution in the second degree. If anyone under the age of 18 years of age is involved in the charge, it is automatically considered a charge of prostitution in the second degree.

Prostitution – 3rd Degree

The simple charge of prostitution in the third degree means that someone is accused of knowingly advancing or profiting from acts considered and defined as prostitution. This charge results in conviction of only a Class A Misdemeanor, which is much less serious that the other two degrees of charges.

Punishment/Consequences

If convicted of a Class A Misdemeanor Prostitution charge in Alabama, one may be sentenced to up to one year in prison and/or a fine of up to $6,000. Typically, this charge is for a prostitute or her John. Found guilty of a Class C Felony (or Prostitution in the second degree), a person may get from one to 10 years in prison and a fine that may amount to $15,000. The people usually convicted at this level are pimps and brothel owners. Anyone charged with prostitution in the first degree can expect to receive a much harsher sentence and increased fines as they are facing a Class B Felony.


The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:

Prostitution laws in US cities:

Prostitution laws in Canada