Prostitution laws in Texas

Although it is said that everything is bigger in Texas, the statutes prohibiting prostitution in Texas are very similar in size and breadth to the other states in the U.S. That being said, prostitution is generally treated as a misdemeanor (until someone is convicted of multiple offenses or more serious ones), and relatively reasonable sentences are imposed upon guilty offenders.

Prostitutes and patrons

In Texas, the laws define a prostitute as any person who offers to engage in or agrees to engage in sexual conduct for a fee. The law clearly states that someone may be convicted of prostitution even if he or she were propositioned by another person.

Patrons of prostitutes are individuals who solicit others in a public place to engage in sexual acts for hire.

Both of these individuals (patrons and prostitutes) may be convicted of a class B misdemeanor for their first offenses. Sentences may include up to 180 days in jail and/or a fine up to $2,000. Second offenses get defendants a class A misdemeanor charge and up to 1 year in jail and, possibly, a fine up to $4,000. Someone who is convicted three or more times will receive a state jail felony. He or she will be required to serve 180 days to 2 years in prison and potentially pay a fine up to $10,000.

Promotion of prostitution

Pimping is considered promotion of prostitution in Texas. A pimp is someone who may receive or accept money or other valuables per an agreement to participate in the proceeds of prostitution by soliciting others to engage in sexual conduct with prostitutes in exchange for compensation. The pimp operates as someone other than a prostitute who personally renders services to patrons.

Pimps receive similar sentences to prostitutes and may be charged with having committed a class A misdemeanor.

However, aggravated promotion is considered a 3rd degree felony. Someone who knowingly invests in, controls, supervises, maintains or manages a prostitution enterprise or house of prostitution is guilty of aggravated promotion. Sentences for defendants of this crime include 2 to 10 years in prison and fines up to $10,000.

Promotion offenses get more serious when compulsion is introduced into the picture. If someone forces (by violence or threats) a person to become or remain a prostitute, he or she may be guilty and charged with a 2nd degree felony, which faces a more serious sentence. Additionally, if someone is involved in the promotion of a prostitute who is under 17 years old, the 2nd degree felony charge may be applied.

The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:

Prostitution laws in US cities:

Prostitution laws in Canada