Much like the rest of the United States, Colorado law prohibits prostitution in all forms. However, Colorado law makes one distinct difference in the wording of its legislation that stands out compared to many states in the U.S. The law strictly prohibits knowledgeable involvement in activities construed as and defined as acts of prostitution. However, the law leaves open to interpretation if the engagement or involvement is not known.
When a person is convicted of prostitution or patronization of a prostitute, the court automatically mandates the administration of an HIV test. Test results are filed with the district attorney or prosecutor’s office involved in the case. If the results are positive for HIV, any subsequent arrests and convictions will be accompanied by charges of committing the crime or act when knowledge of the infection is present. Conviction of the charge as a prostitute is a Class 5 Felony and as a customer is a Class 6 Felony.
Mental Health Treatment
When a person is convicted for multiple offenses, the court may mandate automatic testing for substance abuse, focusing efforts to detect abuse of controlled substances or alcohol. Depending on the outcome of this test, mental health counseling or outpatient treatment may be ordered, at the defendant’s own costs.
A suspect is guilty of solicitation if he or she asks another person to engage in act of prostitution or if he or she asks another person to arrange a meeting for an act of prostitution to occur. This offer or agreement for an arrangement must be accompanied by an offer of money or other valuables. This is considered a Class 3 Misdemeanor in Colorado.
Pandering is when one person coerces another person to engage in prostitution or acts of prostitution as a result of criminal or menacing intimidation. A Class 5 Felony, the punishment for this charge is more severe than some others. Knowingly arranging or offering to arrange an opportunity for someone to engage in prostitution without the threat of violence is a Class 3 Misdemeanor.
Class 1 Petty Offenses
Simply being a customer of a prostitute opens one up to being charged with a Class 1 Petty Offense. Defendants may receive jail time up to 6 months and a fine up to $500. Additional offenses can result in a more serious charge. A prostitute whose actions through gestures or words intend to encourage the practice of prostitution may be arrested for the charge of “Prostitute Making Display.” This is classified as a Class 1 Petty Offense.
Promoting Sexual Immorality
Listed as a Class 2 Misdemeanor, anyone who is convicted of “Promoting Sexual Immorality” has knowingly provided a place or building for the aid of sexual intercourse or deviate sexual intercourse between two people who do not happen to be husband and wife. This charge is difficult to prove, but it does exist on the books.
- Prostitution convictions result in sentences of up to 6 months in the local jail and a possible fine of $50 to $750. This is a Class 3 Misdemeanor charge.
- Persons convicted of pimping may serve 4 to 12 years in prison and be required to pay fines from $3,000 to $750,000 depending on circumstances. This is considered a Class 3 Felony.
- Brothel owners seem to receive much less severe sentences when convicted. Only a Class 2 Misdemeanor, brothel owners may serve 3 months to a year in jail and incur a fine of $250 to $1,000.
- Alabama prostitution laws
- Alaska prostitution laws
- Arizona prostitution laws
- Arkansas prostitution laws
- California prostitution laws
- Connecticut prostitution laws
- Delaware prostitution laws
- Florida prostitution laws
- Georgia prostitution laws
- Hawaii prostitution laws
- Idaho prostitution laws
- Illinois prostitution laws
- Indiana prostitution laws
- Iowa prostitution laws
- Kansas prostitution laws
- Kentucky prostitution laws
- Louisiana prostitution laws
- Maine prostitution laws
- Maryland prostitution laws
- Massachusetts prostitution laws
- Michigan prostitution laws
- Minnesota prostitution laws
- Mississippi prostitution laws
- Missouri prostitution laws
- Montana prostitution laws
- Nebraska prostitution laws
- Nevada prostitution laws
- New Hampshire prostitution laws
- New Jersey prostitution laws
- New Mexico prostitution laws
- New York prostitution laws
- North Carolina prostitution laws
- North Dakota prostitution laws
- Ohio prostitution laws
- Oklahoma prostitution laws
- Oregon prostitution laws
- Pennsylvania prostitution laws
- Rhode Island prostitution laws
- South Carolina prostitution laws
- South Dakota prostitution laws
- Tennessee prostitution laws
- Texas prostitution laws
- Utah prostitution laws
- Vermont prostitution laws
- Virginia prostitution laws
- Washington prostitution laws
- West Virginia prostitution laws
- Wisconsin prostitution laws
- Wyoming prostitution laws
The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:
- Prostitution laws in Churchill County
- Prostitution laws in Lander County
- Prostitution laws in Lyon County
- Prostitution laws in Nye County
- Prostitution laws in Storey County
Prostitution laws in US cities:
- Prostitution laws in Chicago
- Prostitution laws in Dallas
- Prostitution laws in Houston
- Prostitution laws in Las Vegas
- Prostitution laws in Los Angeles
- Prostitution laws in New York City
- Prostitution laws in Philadelphia
- Prostitution laws in Phoenix
- Prostitution laws in San Francisco
- Prostitution laws in Seattle