Maine’s state statutes clearly prohibit the practice of prostitution and all other crimes associated with it. The promotion of prostitution and the aggravated promotion of prostitution are clearly defined by the laws as criminal activity. With imprisonment sentences up to 2 years and fines up to $2,000, the state of Maine takes eradicating the crime seriously.
In Maine, prostitution is defined as the act of engaging in, agreeing to engage in or offering to engage in any sexual contact or sexual act in exchange for financial benefits. The benefits would be received by the person engaging in the act of prostitution or an assigned third person.
The sentence of a first offense of prostitution is up to six months of jail time and/or a fine not to exceed $1,000. The first offense is a Class E offense, however subsequent offenses will be charged as Class D crimes and may include a sentence of up to 1 year in jail or prison and a fine up to $2,000 for each offense.
The promotion of prostitution is characterized by many different things, but all aspects of the crime are illegal and punishable by law. Considered Class D crimes, defendants receive sentences of up to 1 year in jail or prison and fines not to exceed $2,000 per each offense they are found guilty of.
One definition of promoting prostitution is aiding or causing another to engage in or commit acts of prostitution. This would be a crime performed by someone other than a patron of a prostitute.
Publicly soliciting patrons for prostitution is illegal and considered promoting prostitution. This is further defined as when an offer to engage in sexual conduct or an act in exchange for money or other valuables is made in a public place. The fee may be received by the prostitute or an agreed upon third person.
Someone who provides persons for the purpose and intent of prostitution is guilty of promoting prostitution.
Leasing or allowing the use of a location to be regularly utilized for the purpose of prostitution is punishable by law. Additionally, owning, managing, controlling, supervising or operating a prostitution business or house of prostitution is illegal.
It is strictly prohibited by law to transport a person within the state or into the state with the purpose of that person engaging in an act of prostitution.
One final definition of promoting prostitution is when someone agrees to accept or receive or actually accepts or receives monetary benefits as a result of another person participating in acts of prostitution.
Aggravated promotion of prostitution
Promotion of prostitution is taken to a new level of crime when the offense has an aggravated element added to it. The offense becomes a Class B crime, and defendants face much stricter sentencing.
Aggravated promotion of prostitution is when a defendant:
- Promotes prostitution by compelling a person to enter into or engage in or remain in the business of prostitution. “Compelling” is defined as using a drug or intoxicating substance to render a person in capable of making rational decisions or by withholding or threatening to withhold a narcotic drug or alcohol from a dependent individual.
- Promotes prostitution of a person younger than 18 years of age.
- Alabama prostitution laws
- Alaska prostitution laws
- Arizona prostitution laws
- Arkansas prostitution laws
- California prostitution laws
- Colorado prostitution laws
- Connecticut prostitution laws
- Delaware prostitution laws
- Florida prostitution laws
- Georgia prostitution laws
- Hawaii prostitution laws
- Idaho prostitution laws
- Illinois prostitution laws
- Indiana prostitution laws
- Iowa prostitution laws
- Kansas prostitution laws
- Kentucky prostitution laws
- Louisiana prostitution laws
- Maryland prostitution laws
- Massachusetts prostitution laws
- Michigan prostitution laws
- Minnesota prostitution laws
- Mississippi prostitution laws
- Missouri prostitution laws
- Montana prostitution laws
- Nebraska prostitution laws
- Nevada prostitution laws
- New Hampshire prostitution laws
- New Jersey prostitution laws
- New Mexico prostitution laws
- New York prostitution laws
- North Carolina prostitution laws
- North Dakota prostitution laws
- Ohio prostitution laws
- Oklahoma prostitution laws
- Oregon prostitution laws
- Pennsylvania prostitution laws
- Rhode Island prostitution laws
- South Carolina prostitution laws
- South Dakota prostitution laws
- Tennessee prostitution laws
- Texas prostitution laws
- Utah prostitution laws
- Vermont prostitution laws
- Virginia prostitution laws
- Washington prostitution laws
- West Virginia prostitution laws
- Wisconsin prostitution laws
- Wyoming prostitution laws
The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:
- Prostitution laws in Churchill County
- Prostitution laws in Lander County
- Prostitution laws in Lyon County
- Prostitution laws in Nye County
- Prostitution laws in Storey County
Prostitution laws in US cities:
- Prostitution laws in Chicago
- Prostitution laws in Dallas
- Prostitution laws in Houston
- Prostitution laws in Las Vegas
- Prostitution laws in Los Angeles
- Prostitution laws in New York City
- Prostitution laws in Philadelphia
- Prostitution laws in Phoenix
- Prostitution laws in San Francisco
- Prostitution laws in Seattle