Wisconsin prostitution law

Wisconsin prohibits prostitution and related crimes by dividing the offenses up into five separate statutes that defines the various offenses in common-sense terminology. The five categories are prostitution, patronization, solicitation, pandering and keeping a place of prostitution. Ranging from misdemeanors to felonies, Wisconsin has different levels of penalties for the crimes based on their severity.


The statutes define anyone who is a prostitute as an offender breaking a law that is categorized as a class A misdemeanor. Sentences for guilty convictions are up to 9 months in jail and/or a fine up to $10,000.

There are several ways that a person may be classified as a prostitute. The first condition is if he or she has, offers to have or requests to have non-marital sex or sexual contact with another person in exchange for a fee or anything else of value. Additionally, the sexual contact may include any act of sexual gratification that involves the sex organ and the mouth or anus of another person or any act of masturbation. These acts may be done privately or in public. Someone who is an inmate of a place of prostitution is also categorized as an offender of the law prohibiting prostitution.


The state of Wisconsin defines a patron of a prostitute as anyone who enters or remains in any place of prostitution with the intent to have non-marital sex or to commit any sexual act with a prostitute as a result of giving him or her any item of value.

A patron of a prostitute faces a class A misdemeanor charge and a sentence of up to 9 months and/or a fine up to $10,000.

Solicitation and keeping a house of prostitution

A person who intentionally solicits or causes any person to practice prostitution or establishes anyone in a place of prostitution is considered guilty of a class H felony. A class H felony may be punished with a sentence of up to 6 years in prison and/or a fine up to $10,000.

Furthermore, another class H felony is keeping a house of prostitution. One who maintains or operates a house of prostitution is punishable by law. Also, someone who grants the use of property he or she owns for use as a place of prostitution may be convicted of this crime.


Considered a class F felony, anyone who is a pimp or receives compensation of any value from a prostitute from services he or she personally rendered may be guilty of pandering. Anyone convicted of this offense may receive a hefty sentence of up to 12 and one-half years in prison and/or a fine up to $25,000.

The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:

Prostitution laws in US cities:

Prostitution laws in Canada