Prostitution law in Churchill County, Nevada

Churchill County, located in the western portion of Nevada, allows prostitution and brothels within the constraints of its many statutes governing licensing and employment registration. Prostitution is allowable within the laws, but the practice must be limited to occurring in licensed houses of prostitution and with licensed prostitutes.

Definition of prostitution

IIn Churchill County, prostitution is defined as performing any of the following acts for hire by a prostitute with a patron, for a fee, engaging in:

  • Sexual Intercourse, or
  • Oral-genital contact, or
  • Any touching of the sexual organs or any intimate part of the body of another person for the purpose of arousing or gratifying the sexual desire of either person.

Prostitutes (or employees of brothels or houses of prostitution) must apply for and receive a work card from the county in order to legitimately provide services to patrons within an approved and licensed brothel. Prostitutes working as escorts or within an escort service are breaking the law. Escort services are illegal because the act of prostitution does not occur within the licensed premises.

It is illegal in Churchill County to practice prostitution or sex for hire services, to solicit business for a prostitute or procure a person for prostitution in any location besides within licensed premises, according to statutes. Anyone found in violation of these terms is subject to a misdemeanor charge and may be sentenced with a fine up to $1,000 and/or 6 months in the county jail.

License application procedures

In order for a house of prostitution to become licensed in Churchill County, a completed application must be submitted to the licensing and control board (also the County Commission).

Prior to applying for a license, applicants must submit a request for a special use permit. Licensing guidelines are strict, and the application is lengthy and detailed. Asking many questions about the applicant and any other owners of the enterprise, the application is enough to deter many people from completion.

Examples of questions asked to acquire a license for a house of prostitution include:

  1. Names, ages and addresses of all owners.
  2. Photos and fingerprints for all owners and managers.
  3. The employers of all applicants for the past 10 years.
  4. All prior convictions of all applicants.
  5. Tax returns for each applicant.
  6. Personal references for each applicant.
  7. A comprehensive plan for advertising that meets county standards.
  8. Proposed house rules.
  9. List of all potential employees.
  10. Fire plan, preapproved by the fire marshal.
  11. List of all equipment to be used in the operation of the house of prostitution (hot tubs, saunas, pools, sound equipment, lighting devices or appliances, for example).

There are many more questions included on the application form. In addition to the form, applicants must present an investigation fee of $7,500 (this is sometimes reduced or waived).

Work card for employees

Each employee of a brothel must register with the county for a work permit or work card. These permits are exclusive for the site of employment. If an employee changes employment, a new work card must be acquired. To get a work card, applicants must be at least 21 years old; have no felony convictions on his or her record; have no record of any crimes involving drug sales, theft of funds, violence or firearms; and make no false statements on the application.

Every employee must undergo a health examination by an approved doctor each week. Weekly tests are given for gonorrhea and Chlamydia, and monthly tests are administered to find evidence of syphilis or HIV infection.

Other house of prostitution requirements

The laws state that no overnight residents may be male within brothels. Only employees are permitted to stay the night at a house of prostitution from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. Additionally, male employees are permitted from brothels unless they perform work as managers, maintenance specialists, bartenders, cleaners or repair men.

Patrons under the age of 21 years old are prohibited from entering a house of prostitution or brothel. Signs stating this must be clearly posted at each entrance.

Recording of any acts of prostitution through audio, video, digital or still photography is not allowed on the premise of any brothel or house of prostitution.

Brothel windows must be restricted from view of the general public or be covered.

Houses of prostitution and brothels may not be located within 2,000 feet of any public or private school for children; church or place of worship; public park, pool, playground or recreation center for children; a regular school bus stop; or any other adult-oriented business establishment.

The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:

Prostitution laws in US cities:

Prostitution laws in Canada