Massachusetts prostitution law

There are several aspects to Massachusetts laws prohibiting prostitution and related activities. Sentences vary depending on the level of the offense, and the laws define some unique categories of prostitution.

Prostitution, as the act of engaging in sexual intercourse or other sexual conduct in exchange for a fee or other valuables, is deemed illegal by the state of Massachusetts. Conversely, paying for (or offering to pay for) sexual intercourse or other sexual relations is prohibited. Fines up to $500 or sentences up to 1 year of imprisonment may be awarded to offenders found guilty of engaging in prostitution.

Solicitation for prostitution or receiving compensation as a result of solicitation efforts is against Massachusetts law. Guilty offenders may find themselves sentenced to a house of correction for up to one year and/or incur a fine up to $500.

Anyone who receives support or maintenance from the earnings of a prostitute or earnings of keeping a house of prostitution may be convicted of a crime and serve up to 5 years in prison and pay a fine up to $5,000. Someone who manages or maintains a house of ill fame that features acts of prostitution or lewdness may be found guilty and sentenced to up to 2 years of imprisonment.

The charge for maintaining a house of ill fame becomes more serious when it is found that the prostitutes are forced or enticed into performing acts of prostitution as a result of suffering or being induced by the owner/manager of the establishment. Sentences for this charge include prison time of 5 years and fines of $5,000.

Specific charges are used for individuals who fraudulently or deceitfully entice away or take away a person from his or her home or elsewhere for the purpose of engaging him or her in unlawful sexual intercourse. Additionally, anyone who aids in this crime is charged with the offense. Sentences include up to 3 years in state prison or up to 1 year in jail and a fine of $1,000. Detaining or drugging an individual with drugs or alcohol in hopes of causing them to participate in a house of prostitution results in a sentence in prison of 5 years or 1 to 2 1/2 years in jail and a fine from $100 to $500.

It is illegal to procure people for the purpose of employing them in the prostitution business or to run an employment agency that places prostitutes into employment involving unlawful sexual intercourse. Fines and short jail terms are potential sentences.

Warrants to investigate any of these prostitution-related crimes may be obtained as a result of testimony in district court that presents probable cause arguments. Offenders may be arrested without warrants, if law enforcement officers determine there is probable cause for such an arrest.

The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:

Prostitution laws in US cities:

Prostitution laws in Canada