Prostitution laws in Georgia

Like other states in the U.S., Georgia distinguishes between escorts and prostitutes in that it prohibits any acts of prostitution and punishes anyone who helps advance it, promote it or benefits from it. While the actual charge of prostitution is only a misdemeanor, other offenses related to prostitution are taken much more seriously resulting in prison terms, heavy fines, vehicle seizure and public notification of conviction.

General misdemeanors

Prostitution, defined as when a person performs or consents to perform a sexual act, including but not limited to sexual intercourse or sodomy, for money or other items of value, is considered a misdemeanor. Patronizing a prostitute is also a misdemeanor. Punishments for these crimes may include imprisonment of nearly one year and/or a fine up to $1,000.

The charge of pimping and owning a house of prostitution are considered misdemeanors of a high and aggravated nature. Sentences for this type of misdemeanor include imprisonment up to one year and/or fines not exceeding $5,000.

Extenuating circumstances make both of these kinds of misdemeanors more serious offenses, however.

Vehicle seizure

When anyone is charged with a prostitution-related charge and a vehicle is involved in the crime, the vehicle is subject to seizure based on Georgia laws. If the vehicle has a different owner than the defendant, the owner will be notified and required to go through a legal process in order for it be returned to him or her. If the owner cannot be located, certain legal procedures are taken to deal with the automobile.

Pimping definitions

There are several guidelines that the state of Georgia utilizes in order to determine if someone may be charged with the offense of being a pimp.

  1. A pimp agrees to procure or offers to procure a prostitute for someone else.
  2. A pimp arranges or offers to set up a meeting of persons for the purpose of prostitution or acts of prostitution being committed.
  3. A pimp transports or directs another person to a specific location knowing the purpose is for prostitution.
  4. A pimp receives items of value or money from a prostitute with the knowledge it is a result of earnings from prostitution. The money may be earnings in whole or in part from prostitution.
  5. A pimp helps, assists, counsels or commands another in the commission of prostitution and the earnings or profits are divided into shares for payment.

Pandering

When a person solicits someone else to perform an act of prostitution for his benefit or another’s benefit it is pandering. Also, pandering includes when someone knowingly assembles people in a specific location in order for solicitation by others to occur resulting in prostitution acts being committed.

When someone is found guilty of pandering, his picture, time and place of arrest and conviction information are printed in an ad in the local newspaper. The ad is 1 column by 2 inches in size. This ad must be paid for by the defendant. This is a public notification of the conviction, which is meant to expose current crimes and deter future ones.

Massages

Specific wording in the prostitution statutes in Georgia prohibit massages in a location specifically used for prostitution, lewdness, masturbation for hire or assignation. Considered a misdemeanor, it is punishable by law.

Other considerations

Tests to flag for sexually transmitted diseases are required for anyone entering a guilty plea for any prostitution-related charge or any guilty conviction.

Any prostitution conviction that is for an offense that occurred with 1,000 feet of a public place of worship, school, recreational center or playground will incur an additional fine of $2,500. This is to help deter this type of crime from occurring within a close proximity to anywhere visited regularly by minors age 17 years old and younger.

Sentences are much harsher for anyone found guilty of promoting acts of prostitution by minors under the age of 18 years old. Considered a felony, anyone convicted may receive a sentence of five to 20 years in prison and a fine ranging from $2,500 to $10,000. The sentence is not allowed to be suspended or withheld due to being related to the corruption of a minor.


The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:

Prostitution laws in US cities:

Prostitution laws in Canada