The Sunflower State strictly defines prostitution and determines that it is illegal within the state of Kansas. Categorizing the crime into three specific types of offenses, the trade of prostitution and related activities are prohibited and punished.
Offenders found to be guilty of engaging in sexual acts for a fee or other valuables are considered prostitutes. Also included in this definition is anyone who agrees to perform sexual acts for hire or offers to perform sexual acts for hire. Sexual acts included for this definition are:
- Sexual intercourse
- Manual or other bodily contact used for stimulation of another’s genitals in order to arouse or gratify sexual desires
Prostitution is considered a class B non-person misdemeanor and results in a sentence of up to 6 months and a potential fine up to $1,000.
There are several offenses that fall under the category of promoting prostitution in Kansas. Regardless of their differences, they all have the purpose of advancing the crime and assisting in its occurrence. Some aspects of this category deal with houses of prostitution or brothels while others involve the act of pimping.
- Anyone who maintains, owns or manages a house of prostitution or participates in its management or ownership is guilty of promoting prostitution.
- One who permits any owned premises to be used for the purpose of prostitution or acts of prostitution may be found guilty of promoting prostitution.
- If a person procures a prostitute for a house of prostitution or brothel, he or she may be charged with promoting prostitution.
- Someone who induces or causes another person to engage in prostitution is guilty of promoting prostitution.
- Soliciting or recruiting a patron for prostitution or a brothel can be charged for promoting prostitution.
- Procuring a prostitute for a customer or patron is illegal and a form of promoting prostitution.
- Providing or finding transportation for a prostitute so he or she may engage in the act may result in a guilty conviction for promoting prostitution.
- Anyone who is employed for any of the previous reasons can be convicted of promoting prostitution.
Promoting prostitution is a class A person misdemeanor on the first conviction. Sentencing usually includes up to 1 year imprisonment and a fine up to $2,5000. If subsequent convictions occur, each new conviction becomes a level 7 person felony, which entails incarceration for 1 to 5 years and a fine up to $100,000. If minors under the age of 16 years old are invovled, the crime becomes a level 6 person felony with even stricter sentences.
The third category for Kansas prostitution laws is patronization. One may be charged with patronizing a prostitute when he or she knowingly enters or remains in a brothel or house of prostitution with the intent and purpose of engaging in sodomy, sexual intercourse or other sexual act. Classed as a class C misdemeanor, defendants convicted of this may see jail time lasting up to 1 month and a fine of a $500.
- Alabama prostitution laws
- Alaska prostitution laws
- Arizona prostitution laws
- Arkansas prostitution laws
- California prostitution laws
- Colorado prostitution laws
- Connecticut prostitution laws
- Delaware prostitution laws
- Florida prostitution laws
- Georgia prostitution laws
- Hawaii prostitution laws
- Idaho prostitution laws
- Illinois prostitution laws
- Indiana prostitution laws
- Iowa prostitution laws
- Kentucky prostitution laws
- Louisiana prostitution laws
- Maine prostitution laws
- Maryland prostitution laws
- Massachusetts prostitution laws
- Michigan prostitution laws
- Minnesota prostitution laws
- Mississippi prostitution laws
- Missouri prostitution laws
- Montana prostitution laws
- Nebraska prostitution laws
- Nevada prostitution laws
- New Hampshire prostitution laws
- New Jersey prostitution laws
- New Mexico prostitution laws
- New York prostitution laws
- North Carolina prostitution laws
- North Dakota prostitution laws
- Ohio prostitution laws
- Oklahoma prostitution laws
- Oregon prostitution laws
- Pennsylvania prostitution laws
- Rhode Island prostitution laws
- South Carolina prostitution laws
- South Dakota prostitution laws
- Tennessee prostitution laws
- Texas prostitution laws
- Utah prostitution laws
- Vermont prostitution laws
- Virginia prostitution laws
- Washington prostitution laws
- West Virginia prostitution laws
- Wisconsin prostitution laws
- Wyoming prostitution laws
The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:
- Prostitution laws in Churchill County
- Prostitution laws in Lander County
- Prostitution laws in Lyon County
- Prostitution laws in Nye County
- Prostitution laws in Storey County
Prostitution laws in US cities:
- Prostitution laws in Chicago
- Prostitution laws in Dallas
- Prostitution laws in Houston
- Prostitution laws in Las Vegas
- Prostitution laws in Los Angeles
- Prostitution laws in New York City
- Prostitution laws in Philadelphia
- Prostitution laws in Phoenix
- Prostitution laws in San Francisco
- Prostitution laws in Seattle