Connecticut prostitution law

Connecticut strictly identifies prostitution and has worked to succinctly define its legislation and laws affecting the crime. One of the more unique aspects about Connecticut laws prohibiting prostitution is that the laws explicitly indicate that the sex of the perpetrator is immaterial. Any defense utilizing the argument that same-sex prostitution or female solicitations of male prostitutes are not true prostitution fall on a deaf ear in Connecticut courts. Otherwise, Connecticut laws follow much the same standards that laws across the United States do concerning prostitution and its prohibition.

Prostitution in Connecticut

Prostitution in Connecticut is engaged in when one person agrees to perform sexual contact with another person in exchange for money or valuables. Considered a Class A Misdemeanor, guilty convictions usually carry a sentence of up to 1 year and a fine up to $2,000. Resulting in the same punishment, patronization of a prostitute is when one offers or requests that another person has sexual contact with the defendant in return for an agreed upon sum or fee. The law clearly specifies prostitution patronization from a vehicle as when anyone solicits or requests sexual contact for money while in a motor vehicle, whether it’s stopped or moving.

Promoting prostitution

The law says that any person who is not acting as a prostitute but works to aid or help another person to engage in prostitution is guilty of promoting prostitution. This includes helping one to acquire customers or clients, providing or helping to find a location in which the prostitution acts will occur or operating a location that is a place of prostitution.

Various degrees of promotion are defined:

  • 1st Degree (Class B Felony): Promotion of prostitution in the first degree occurs when a person is forced into prostitution by coercion, intimidation, physical threats or fraud. This also applies when the prostitute is under the age of 16 years old.
  • 2nd Degree (Class C Felony): Second degree promotion of prostitution is defined as when one is found guilty of supervising, managing or owning a house, facility, enterprise or business with its first priority being prostitution. This type of an enterprise or operation must “employ” two or more prostitutes. This also applies when the prostitute is under the age of 18 years old. A Class C Felony may draw a sentence of 1 to 10 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000.
  • 3rd Degree (Class D Felony): Anyone who knowingly benefits or profits from the advancement of prostitution may be guilty of promotion of prostitution in the third degree.

Connecticut expects proactive citizens

The Connecticut court system encourages its residents to be proactive when it comes to prostitution and attempting to rid the state of the offense. Anyone who is known to be aware of prostitution and that their property is being utilized for purposes of prostitution may be found guilty of permitting prostitution. Property may include a building, house, facility, apartment, condo, car, yard or other places. This is a Class A Misdemeanor.


The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:

Prostitution laws in US cities:

Prostitution laws in Canada