Prostitution law in Nye County, Nevada

With the majority of the county land managed by the federal government, Nye County becomes rather small despite its estimated population of 46,308 residents. The county allows one license for a house of prostitution to be located in Armargosa Valley and reports that income derived from prostitution has a positive effect on its economic bottom line. Prostitution may only be legally committed within a house of prostitution or brothel.

Definitions for Nye County

According to the statutes, a brothel is an establishment operating with a source of income or compensation that comes from the practice of prostitution. A brothel has a fixed location for the business.

Further explanation comes when house of prostitution is defined. A house of prostitution is any house, building, trailer (with or without wheels), vehicle, tent or other structure or property wherein or whereon acts of prostitution are committed or offered to be committed.

Prostitution is defined by the Nye County statutes as when any male or female person who, for a fee, engages in sexual intercourse, oral-genital contact or any touching of the sexual organs or other intimate body parts of another person for the purpose of arousing or gratifying the sexual desire of either person.

House of prostitution license requirements

In order for an owner of a house of prostitution to become licensed, he or she must complete a rigorous application process, pass a background check and prove to be financially solvent. Licenses may be denied to individuals with a history of criminal convictions, proof of financial insolvency, evidence of making false statements on the application, questionable business associations and anyone who is under the age of 21 years old.

The application process cannot be completed unless a nonrefundable application/investigation fee of $5,000 is paid to help provide for an FBI background check, interviews of applicant and past employers, financial examination and any other necessary review.

To continue one’s operation and license legitimacy, quarterly licensure fees must be paid to the county.

Prostitute requirements

For a prostitute to be employed at a licensed house of prostitution, he or she must be registered with the county. An application with several questions about one’s history, identification, criminal record, employment record and health must be submitted in order to be allowed to work in any house of prostitution or brothel. No one under the age of 21 years old is allowed to work in a house of prostitution or brothel.

Regular medical examinations to guard against sexually transmitted diseases is required of all employees of houses of prostitution. Weekly tests for gonorrhea and Chlamydia are conducted, in addition to other tests. If a prostitute’s health examination comes back positive for an infection, he or she loses the ability to work until his health is cleared.


The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:

Prostitution laws in US cities:

Prostitution laws in Canada