Arkansas prostitution laws

The laws governing and defining prostitution in Arkansas are relatively straight-forward and very similar to standard laws prohibiting prostitution throughout the United States. However, generally classified as Class B or Class A Misdemeanors, the sentences for prostitution in Arkansas appear to be less severe than other states in the U.S., with the maximum sentence being one year in prison for a guilty conviction.

Attempts to thwart prostitution

One portion of the Arkansas statutes that pertain to prostitution criminalizes the lack of actions to stop or report acts of prostitution that occur within a premises owned by a person. In other words, if you know that acts of prostitution are occurring in an apartment building, rental house or other building that you own or have proprietary interest in, and you fail to report it or attempt to stop it, you may be arrested for Promoting Prostitution in the 3rd Degree, which is a Class B Misdemeanor. The courts in Arkansas are not forgiving for a defense that alleges you knew about it, but you were not directly involved in the act of prostitution.

Penalties for prostitution patronization

Anyone found guilty of paying or agreeing to pay a fee or exchanging any valuable for a sexual act or a promise of a sexual act is convicted of a Class B misdemeanor on the first offense. This conviction will get him or her a stay in the county jail of up to 90 days and/or a fine of up to $5000. A conviction for a second offense will result in a Class A misdemeanor sentence of up to one year in jail and/or a fine of $1,000.

Prostitution in the first degree

Compelling a person by intimidation or force to engage in prostitution or profiting from coercive acts for the purpose of prostitution may cause one to be charged with Prostitution in the 1st Degree. One other aspect of prostitution is considered Prostitution in the 1st Degree. If you advance the act of prostitution or profit from the acts of prostitution by a person who is younger than 18 years of age, you may receive a conviction of a Class D Felony. This holds a much harsher sentence than the misdemeanor charges.

Prostitution in the second degree

Profiting from or advancing the act of prostitution by supervising, managing, controlling or owning a house of prostitution or a prostitution enterprise with 2 or more “employees” may cause you to be convicted of Prostitution in the 2nd Degree. This is a Class A Misdemeanor and is punishable with a sentence of up to one year in prison and a fine of up to $1,000.

While the sentences in Arkansas may be less severe than other states, the Arkansas legislature has still very explicitly stipulated its guidelines concerning prostitution. Basically, prostitutes and their clients will receive up to 90 days in jail and/or a $500 fine for their first offense. A second offense receives the same sentence as pimps or brothel owners do: up to 1 year in jail and/or a fine of $1,000.


The following Nevada counties have their own laws and regulations on prostitution:

Prostitution laws in US cities:

Prostitution laws in Canada